Jekyl & Hyde

What a difference a day makes. Scamper and I competed in the inaugural Iowa Trail Riding Equestrian Challenges’ (ITREC) rides this past weekend. I had a ball. Scamper just pigged out on grass and red clover whenever he got a chance. Day 1 ended with a 5th place ribbon (5th of 9), a tired horse and a slightly disappointed rider. Day 2 ended with a 1st place ribbon and therefore, a very satisfied rider.

On Day 1 Scamper started hyper and stayed that way throughout the 2 1/2 hour ride. He performed okay on the obstacles but was crazy in between obstacles. I joked later that he was pretending to be a Lipizzaner between obstacle #1 & #2–performing airs. I swear all four feet were off the ground at the same time. The maneuver started with a crow hop, moved on to a slight rear and then we took to the air. Thank God I was using my barrel saddle and really was never in danger of coming unseated. I had not worked him on Friday to make sure he was well rested on Saturday. I might need to re-think that strategy next time.

The ride was hosted by Camp Wesley Woods and benefited Su Rider’s therapeutic riding program there.  Although it was hot in the afternoon, I rode out before 10 am each day so we were done with the ride before it got unbearable. Let me tell you a bit about how these rides go.

ITREC has 3 divisions — Goin’ Green (beginner riders &/or horse), Finesse (for the “experienced pleasure trail rider as well a those transitioning from the show ring”), and Working Horse (“accomplish some sort of task you may do around the ranch”). I chose the Finesse division when I entered about a month before the ride although I wasn’t sure which division would be best for us. After Day 1, I still wasn’t sure. After Day 2, I felt better about the choice. There was not a huge difference between Working Horse and Finesse, I would just say precision is more important in the Finesse division.

Day 1 of the ride, check-in was from 7am to 8:30am. At check-in I received a packet that included my number, a list of that day’s obstacles, a trail map and some other goodies like coupons. I also got a ticket to put in the drawing for door prizes to be given away during awards. At check-in, I signed up for a ride out time. Day 1, I chose the first ride out time of 9:30 since there was an opening and I thought it would be good to get done before it got too hot. That was probably a mistake because both Scamper and I were a little rushed to get ready. That seemed to set the tone for our ride that day.

At 8:30 was the rider’s meeting to review the trail route and each obstacle. It was a challenge to conclude this meeting in an hour due the multitude of questions (times three) about the obstacles (total of 6) making for 18 million questions about how they would be judged. I say times three because each obstacle is slightly different for each division. This was my 2nd time to experience a rider’s meeting and I found my patience tested once again by all the questions. At each obstacle both horse and rider receive a score. Total possible points for Finesse & Working Horse were 265. I’m not exactly sure how 6 times 40 equals 265. Maybe I need to read the fine print in the rules.

The meeting finished a little late so it was time to hustle to my horse to get ready to ride out to the first obstacle which was Tired and Draggin’. Here are our written instructions for Finese riders: “drag tire from 1st cone to 2nd cone at a walk. At 2nd cone, pivot on hindquarters (stationary hind foot) toward rope hand 180 degrees (end facing tire). Drop rope.” The cones were about 30 feet apart in a straight line on path that had been mowed in a field. Scamper seemed shocked to see people in a field and acted like he had never seen a tire connected to a rope before even though we had practiced at home at least twice last week. I didn’t expect he would pivot with a stationary hind foot but he did turn around well. Our score: 38

Obstacle #2 Kitten Rescue “Walk to pole approaching pole from either direction and sidepass along pole to tree. Rescue kitten from tree, carrying kitten as described in Goin’ Green and trot to barrel. Stop. Deposit kitten on barrel.”

As you can see in this photo taken by Nola Harding, it is a stuffed kitten. I was supposed to “Rescue the kitten. Place in front of rider either in saddle of in front of saddle.” Oops, rider error here. Scamper did sidepass to the tree pretty well but I got too cocky and asked him to sidepass away and he fell apart. You can see he is already starting to lather up and we’ve only been riding about 30 minutes and it’s not hot, yet.

Our score: 38

Obstacle #3 Hay Bale Jump– “Trot to and jump over hay bales. May canter if desired without penalty, but will not result in higher score. May trot or canter after landing. After the jump, stop horse within marked area, back 3 steps and exit at a walk.” We had a nice ride through some timber before we emerged in a beautiful meadow.

Nola took some great pictures all weekend!

The jump was indeed 2 square bales of hay laying flat end to end but with a saw horse at each end. Again Scamper was shocked to see people but this was a meadow full of red clover so he quickly dove to eat. He wasn’t the least bit happy when I made him quit eating to at least look at the obstacle a bit before it was our turn. As we trotted toward the hay bales, he was a little reluctant so I really had to encourage him to move out enough to have enough momentum to make the jump. This was the most fun obstacle of the day for me. Our score: 42.

Obstacle 4 Uphill -“Enter obstacle area at a walk. Pick up trot by the 1st marker. Trot to 2nd marker. Stop at 2nd marker for 5 seconds. Judge will indicate to rider when 5 seconds have elapsed. Continue up hill and out of area at a walk.” Sounds easy but Scamper had not stood still for 5 seconds all day except when he had his head down scarfing away. Luckily we were in the horse pasture that had been pretty well eaten down and he stopped and stood well. He almost broke to a trot before we exited the obstacle. Our score: 39.

Break time between obstacles. Water for horses and riders. Then we proceeded through the longest stretch of timber to Obstacle #5 Map Quest (Lost Again!!!) “Walk to barrel, stopping with barrel at rider’s leg. Back half way around barrel ending up on the opposite side of the barrel. Pick up map. Unfold map completely. Refold map, carry to 2nd barrel. Stop at barrel and deposit map on barrel.” Scamper was starting to settle down a little and this obstacle was easy after the back up portion. Our score: 43

We were headed for the finish line back at the barn but first we had to go through another horse pasture. Scamper decided to dance sideways most of the way around Horseshoe Pond but he did walk quietly past the goat/llama pen.

The last obstacle was at the round pen next to the barn where our ride began about 2 1/2 hours previously. Obstacle #6 – Stone in the Hoof – “Enter obstacle area. Dismount leaving reins around the horse’s neck. Pick up near front hoof. Pick out hoof. Walk around rear of horse and proceed all the way around to starting position. Remount. Trot designated distance.” This obstacle all all about the ground tie–but with reins over the neck. Scamper didn’t quite get that. He wanted to follow me like when we do round penning but I must have been able to get him to stop before he took too many steps because we scored a 43.

Total score 243 for 5th place. 4th place had 244 points.

Take note of the color of my shirt. Day 2 I wore blue.

On Day 1 Scamper was a freak but we survived. He was lathered up and foaming when we got back to the trailer. This was a Hyde kind of day. Not what I expected but I enjoyed myself even if Scamper was not on his best behavior.

Proverbs 3: 5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.  Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.

I’ll try to recap Day 2 soon, until then keep your mind in the middle.

About praysehim

I am the wife of Steve, mother of Alex and Jayme, a graduate of University of Northern Iowa. My previous work experiences include teaching 7th grade English and Math, direct marketing for an insurance company, being stay at home mom and girls basketball coach, preparing taxes and serving on the staff of my local church. I'm currently taking advantage of our empty nest at home and spending my free time on horseback.
This entry was posted in Horses, spiritual stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jekyl & Hyde

  1. Susy says:

    I really enjoyed reading your post. I had never heard of the ITREC and find it really interesting. It is one thing to manage your own emotions in a competition, but to figure out how to deal with the horse is quite an accomplishment! Good work, looking forward to Day 2.

  2. Chery Hassler says:

    Love your story and am waiting anxiously to hear about Day 2. Scamper’s personality sounds so much like my Sundance. We went to a show at the rodeo grounds and I took both horses, thinking I would use both of them in different events. Whether Sundance felt he had to protect Bella all day or what, he was lathered within an hour and a total nut case the entire day. I could never get him to settle down. When we entered the arena for walk/jog, we jigged at the walk and we cantered in place at the jog. But we did take 5th place in our class……………did I mention there were only 5 horses in the class???? I have since taken him to the arena by himself and it was a totally different day. After his initial hyperness, he settled down and we walked and stood around for 3 hours.

  3. Amy O. says:

    I really enjoyed this – and it was great meeting you and being able to ride with you on day 1. Scooter and I had just the opposite in that the next day he was tired and irritable and so was I so we did better the first day. I was just glad we survived even with my migraine trying to rear its head all day.

Leave a comment